The 21st annual BET awards returned Sunday, June 27 with a theme that focused on the “Year of the Black Woman.” Award-winning actress and producer Taraji P. Henson hosted the ceremony from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, where a live audience attended the nearly four hour show.

“Celebrating Black women isn’t a fad or a trend, it’s a forever mood” Henson said, opening up the show. “There is more than enough room for all of us to thrive, because can’t nobody be like me and can’t nobody be like you.”

Critically acclaimed rapper, actress, producer Queen Latifah received this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her “amazing success” throughout her decades-long career.

Her “sisters in rap” including Lil Kim, Rapsody, MC Lyte and Monie Love all took to the main stage to honor  the entertainer with a performance of her classic hits, “Ladies First” and “U.N.I.T.Y..” Latifah’s, who got emotional during her speech, thanked her parents, siblings and business partner.

The evening was full of other winners including Megan Thee Stallion who was recognized as “Best Female Hip Hop Artist,” “Best Collaboration,” “Viewer’s Choice” and “Video of the Year.”

Here’s the complete list of winners below:

·         Album of the Year

“Heaux Tales” Jazmine Sullivan — Winner

“Ungodly Hour” — Chloe x Halle

“King’s Disease” — Nas

“Good News” — Megan Thee Stallion

“Blame it on Baby” — DaBaby

“After Hours” — The Weeknd

·         Best Female R&B / Pop Artist

H.E.R. — Winner


Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker


·         Best Male R&B / Pop Artist

Chris Brown — Winner


Anderson .Paak



The Weeknd

·         Best Group

Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak and Silk Sonic — Winner

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe X Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


·         Best Collaboration

“WAP” Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion — Winner

“Rockstar” — DaBaby ft. Roddy Ricch

“Popstar” — DJ Khaled ft. Drake

“What’s Poppin (Remix)” — Jack Harlow ft. DaBaby, Tory Lanez and Lil Wayne

“Cry Baby” — Megan Thee Stallion ft. DaBaby

“For the Night” — Pop Smoke ft. Lil Baby and DaBaby

·         Best Male Hip Hop Artist

Lil Baby — Winner



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Pop Smoke

·         Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Megan Thee Stallion — Winner

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat



·         Video of the Year

“WAP” Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion — Winner

“Up” — Cardi B

“Do It” — Chloe x Halle

“Go Crazy” — Chris Brown and Young Thug

“Laugh Now Cry Later” — Drake ft. Lil Durk

“Leave the Door Open” — Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak and Silk Sonic

·         Video Director of the Year

Bruno Mars & Florent Déchard — Winner

Benny Boom

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams

·         Best New Artist

Giveon — Winner

Coi Leray

Flo Milli

Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty

·         Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel / Inspirational Award

“Strong God” — Kirk Franklin – Winner

“In Jesus Name” — Bebe Winans

“Never Lost” — Cece Winans

“Hold Us Together” — H.E.R.

“Thank You For It All” — Marvin Sapp

“Touch From You” — Tamela Mann

·         BET Her Award

“Good Days” Sza — Winner

“So Done” — Alicia Keys ft. Khalid

“Baby Mama” — Brandy ft. Chance the Rapper

“Anti Queen” — Bri Steves

“Baby Girl” — Chloe x Halle

“Rooted” — Ciara ft. Ester Dean

·         Best International Act

Burna Boy, Nigeria — Winner

Aya Nakamura — France

Diamond Platnumz — Tanzania

Emicida — Brazil

Headie One — United Kingdom

Wizkid — Nigeria

Young T & Bugsey — United Kingdom

Youssopha — France

·         Viewer’s Choice Award

“Savage (Remix)” Megan Thee Stallion ft. Beyoncé  –  Winner

“WAP” –  Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion

“Go Crazy” –  Chris Brown & Young Thug

“Rockstar” – DaBaby ft. Roddy Ricch

“Popstar” –  DJ Khaled ft. Drake

“Laugh Now Cry Later” – Drake ft. Lil Durk

“The Bigger Picture” – Lil Baby

“Leave the Door Open”  – Silk Sonic

·         Best Movie

“Judas and the Black Messiah” — Winner

“Coming 2 America”

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

“One Night in Miami”


“The United States Vs. Billie Holiday”

·         Best Actress

Andra Day — Winner

Angela Bassett

Issa Rae

Jurnee Smollett

Viola Davis


·         Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman — Winner

Aldis Hodge

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Eddie Murphy

Lakeith Stanfield

·         Youngstars Award:

Marsai Martin — Winner

Alex R. Hibbert

Ethan Hutchison

Lonnie Chavis

Michael Epps

Storm Reid

·         Sportswoman of the Year Award:

Naomi Osaka — Winner

A’ja Wilson

Candace Parker

Claressa Shields

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins-Smith

·         Sportsman of the Year Award:

Lebron James — Winner

Kyrie Irving

Patrick Mahomes

Russell Westbrook

Russell Wilson

Stephen Curry

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act

Bree Runway, United Kingdom — Winner

Arlo Parks — United Kingdom

Bramsito — France

Elaine — South Africa

MC Dricka — Brazil

Ronisia — France

Tems — Nigeria