US President-elect, Joe Biden announced the leadership for the committee on Monday. Clyburn will be joined by four co-chairs, including Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, Representative Cedric Richmond of Louisiana and Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester of Delaware.

Clyburn has been one of Biden’s most steadfast supporters — the highest-ranking Black lawmaker in Congress, whose endorsement helped turn around Biden’s flagging primary campaign. Clyburn spoke out late last month, saying Biden has not yet appointed enough African Americans to his cabinet.

“These leaders reflect the strength, spirit, and diversity of America and have always held a steadfast commitment to restoring the soul of the nation, building back the middle class, and unifying the country,” Biden said in a written statement.