South Africa Reopens 20 Land Border Crossings

South Africa on Monday reopened 20 land border crossings that were closed over a month ago to limit the spread of Covid-19.

The land border points with Zimbabwe, Namibia, Mozambique, eSwatini, Botswana and Lesotho will now have normal travel.

They were closed following congestion by people who sought to enter the country.

South Africa has the highest number of infections on the continent, with nearly 1.5 million cases and more than 47,000 deaths.

The authorities believe a second wave of the pandemic has passed.

Investigators believe there are syndicates selling fake Covid-19 certificates, after a handful of travellers were caught with them last month.

The home affairs minister has announced that anyone who presents fake certificates will be denied entry and barred from visiting South Africa for a minimum of five years.

Related posts

Climate Change Hits Nigeria, Small Scale Women Farmers


Covid-19: Nigerian Government Orders Reopening Of Isolation Centres


Kenyans Accuse President Uhuru Kenyatta of Flouting Covid Protocols