Alabama’s DeVonta Smith took home college football’s top individual honor on Tuesday night January 5, becoming the first wide receiver to win the Heisman Trophy since 1991 and only the third at his position.

Winners of the award have been dominated by quarterbacks and running backs over the past three decades. Smith beat out fellow finalists, which were all QBs, Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence (second), Alabama’s Mac Jones (third), and Florida’s Kyle Trask (fourth). Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991 was the last receiver to win the Heisman.

With Michigan cornerback Charles Woodson serving as an exception in 1997, a quarterback or running back has won the Heisman in 27 of the last 28 years, including 22 straight from 1998-2019.

DeVonta Smith recorded an impressive 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns in 2020 while averaging 15.6 yards a catch. He pulled in 105 balls.

Alabama finished the college football regular season as the top team in the country and is slated to take on Ohio State on Monday (January 11) for the National Championship. They defeated Notre Dame in their college football playoff semifinal game while the Buckeyes defeated Lawrence’s Clemson Tigers.